Illinois Department of Public HealthHealthy Illinois Home Home

SHIP Implementation Logo

Healthy Illinois 2021 Planning Council

The Healthy Illinois 2021 Planning Council is comprised of public and private sector partners who have been appointed to guide the development of the State Health Assessment and State Health Improvement Plan.

Healthy Illinois 2021 Planning Council Members

Janet Albers, M.D.
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Hong Liu, Ph.D.
Midwest Asian Health Association
Karen Ayala
Northern Illinois Public Health Consortium /
DuPage County Health Department
David K. Livingston
Meridian Health Plan of Illinois
Jay D. Bhatt, D.O.
Illinois Hospital Association
Terry Mason
Northern Illinois Public Health Consortium /
Cook County Department of Public Health
Edwin  Chandrasekar
Asian Health Coalition
David McCurdy, D.Min.
Elmhurst College
Prakash Charles
Northwestern Medicine
David E. Munar
Howard Brown Health Center
Bonnie K. Condon
Advocate Health Care
Samantha Olds Frey
Illinois Association of Medicaid Health Plans
Judith Gethner
Illinois Partners for Human Service
Todd S. Roberts
Memorial Health System
Eric Hargan, J.D.
Greenberg Traurig
Jose Sanchez
Norwegian American Hospital
Tom Hughes
Illinois Public Health Association
Richard Sewell
University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health
Jeffrey S. Joy
IlliniCare Health
Bernadine Stetz
Cigna HealthSpring
Vincent D. Keenan
Illinois Academy of Family Physicians
Anita Stewart, M.D., J.D.
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois
Larry Kissner
Aetna Better Health
James D. Stone
Sangamon County Department of Public Health
Keith Kudia
Family Health Network
Staci Wilson
Illinois Chamber of Commerce
Katherine Lahr
Concordia University Chicago

Illinois State Agency Members

Department on Aging
Jennifer Reif
Environmental Protection Agency
Thomas Hornshaw
Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity
Gail Hedges
Get Covered Illinois
Mark Chudzinski
Department of Healthcare and Family Services
Felicia Norwood
Health Information Exchange Authority
Diego Estrella / Krysta Heaney (designee)
Department of Human Services
James Dimas / Grace Hong Duffin (designee)
Illinois African American Family Commission
Michael Holmes
Department of Insurance
Anne Melissa Dowling / C.J. Metcalf (designee)
Illinois Latino Family Commission
Layla Suleiman Gonzalez, Ph.D., J.D.
Department of Public Health
Nirav Shah / Bill Dart (designee)
State Board of Education
Jessica Gerdes
Department of Transportation
Karen Shoup
State Board of Health
Javette Orgain, M.D.

Focus groups for Healthy Illinois 2021 were held during the summer of 2015:

Healthy Illinois 2021 Planning Council Meetings: